I went to Canada! (for a day)

Winnipeg, Manitoba is one of my favorite cities. I love going there so much. Thankfully, It’s only about 3.5 hours away from where I live! The other day, my dad, brother, family friend, and I decided to take a day trip to Winnipeg. I thought I should blog about it, just to practice blogging about travel before I head off to Rabat (63 days!!!)

So we left at like 9:30 AM, and headed up to Canada. The ride was really boring, I just kinda read some and ate some cherries. I’m reading Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi, and it’s sooooo good. We stopped at a grocery store near the border to pick up some Canadian snacks, and I got some ketchup chips! Yum. That’s the one Canadian junk food I can not get enough of, and I wish so badly that we had it in the States.

Once we got into the city, we went to La Forche, or the Forks. It’s a really nice market, I’ve probably been there like 10 times before. On the top floor, there are a ton of little shops and retail. On the bottom, there is an enormous food court. They have Sri Lankan food, Japanese food, fish and chips, Ukrainian food (mmm, I love their borscht and perogies), Mexican food, French food, and so much more. This time, I got Sri Lankan. I’m not quite sure what I got, because I just asked them to give me something vegan. It looked like rice with turmeric, some curried vegetables, and some sort of eggplant dish. It was all spicy, but delicious. Then, the rest of my family left to go to some airplane museum, but I stayed downtown.

Ukranian food at the Forks 

I walked around the Forks for a bit longer, and then walked through a beautiful park to the Canadian Museum of Human Rights, aka my favorite museum in the world! I’ve been here more times than I can count, but I just love it so much every time. The employees have to be bilingual, so I always speak French to them. I actually read all of the descriptions of the exhibits in French, and was really proud at how much I understood. The first time there, I spent like 6 hours. Today, I only spent about 1.5, since I’ve seen everything and just wanted to hang out there for a while. They have a new exhibit on the top floor, which was interesting. I went to the top of the Israel Tower of Hope, the really tall tower at the top of the museum. I’m kinda proud that I managed to go up all by myself, because I’ve only been up it twice with my best friend, and I freaked out each time. Yay for conquering fears! That museum is just amazing, and it was kinda nice to get to walk around by myself!

The Canadian Museum of Human Rights 

Inside of the museum

Graffiti from a wall in Egypt 

The view from the top of the tower. 

After I left the museum, I walked over to the French quartier of Winnipeg, St Boniface. On the way, I passed a little park that had a sign written in English, French, and Cree. Woo for multilingualism! I had to cross the big bridge across the Assiniboinne river. There were cute streetcar vendors selling frozen bananas and ice cream! I saw some really cute alleys, and walked down the main street for a while. Then, I met my family at Le Cathedral de St Boniface, and saw the grave of my man, Louis Riel! It was so beautiful there, and we strolled around for a while.

Kinda blurry, but here’s the sign! 

Some more Cree

The bridge that crosses into St Boniface

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing, tree, plant, shoes, outdoor and nature

Louis Riel’s grave with my dad and brother! Someone put a voyageur scarf around it. 

On the way out of time, we stopped at a huge bookstore for a while. Then, we went to Tim Horton’s! None of their donuts are vegan, but I did get some harvest vegetable soup and a roll. It was actually pretty delicious, considering I don’t normally like fast food at all. After that, we headed back to the States. I basically slept the whole way home, because I was exhausted. It was such a fun day, I’m glad that I went!

My vegan Tim Horton’s 🙂 

– Lili

July 2017

Leave a Reply

