Life after NSLI-Y

Hello! I’m assuming that most of the readers on this blog are people currently going through the NSLI-Y application process. Looking back on my persona journey with the application, I remember scouring the web for any blog I could find. I was desperate to read about the experiences that NSLI-Y participants were having. I think it motivated me a lot while I was writing my essays. I’m so glad that my blog can be that resource for all of y’all.

I thought it could be useful for me to make an update, and explain what I have been doing for the past 2.5 years. NSLI-Y definitely opened a lot of doors for me, and this post might give you some idea of what your life will look like, post-NSLI-Y.

After Morocco, I went back to my hometown for the summer. I really wish that I had written more about my experience post-program, because it was an incredibly difficult time. I thought that living and adjusting to life in Morocco was hard, but coming home was an entirely new challenge. While I was in Rabat, I could always daydream about going home. I knew that the US and North Dakota were waiting for me, and that Morocco was only temporary. I expected to be a lot more excited to come home, but it was really disappointing. It felt as though nothing had changed. For a while, I was almost convinced that Morocco never even happened. I spent 9 months desperately trying to adjust and fit in, and all of a sudden it was over. I didn’t know when I would be back, or if I would keep in contact with any of the people I met while abroad (I haven’t been back, but my friendships have proven to be stronger than the distance). I think that this period of re-adjustment was difficult for most people on my program, and I would really urge you to do what you need to do and take care of yourself. Reach out to friends, re-connect with your host culture by cooking or listening to music, or do what I did and don’t talk or think about it for like 3 months. It’s also okay to get professional help. Therapists can help you through the tough transition.

I’m not trying to scare you, though! This is just part of the reality of living abroad. Although it was difficult at times, I am still extremely grateful for the experience and would go back in a heartbeat. In August of 2018, I started college at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana. I chose the school because they have an Arabic program, as well as many other programs that interested me. I started as a double major in International Studies and Arabic. Indiana University also has an Arabic Flagship program. If you want to keep studying your language intensively, the Flagship is a great program to join! I believe that there are 6 languages offered at different schools around the country. Here is a link to learn more:

https://www.thelanguageflagship.org/

I will say that the Flagship program is pretty intense. It takes up a lot of your time, as you have about 3 hours of extra tutoring outside of your language classes. It’s up to you to look at the requirements and decide how it may or may not fit with your majors and goals!

I didn’t actually like International Studies, so I switched my major to history. That was the best decision I have made in college! I think I felt like I needed to do International Studies because I was learning Arabic, and most people were taking that route. I wasn’t passionate about it, though, and so I switched. History has been a wonderful major for me. With my Arabic and history majors, I have been able to learn about and research a lot of interesting topics related to the Middle East and Morocco. This year, I am working on a research project about Touria Chaoui, the first Moroccan female pilot. It is so gratifying to use my linguistic and cultural skills to do research and learn even more about Morocco!

As for Arabic, I have taken it every semester of college so far. I did test into level 300, and have worked my way through many of the upper-level courses. It’s important to look at how many classes your school offers, as you might test out of most classes if they don’t offer higher levels! I have also received FLAS funding two years in a row to study Arabic. This is a wonderful scholarship for those of us studying critical languages! NSLI-Y definitely set me up well and my Arabic has continued to improve greatly since the program.

I am just wrapping up my application for CLS (Critical Language Scholarship)… but not for Arabic! I am applying for Persian. With my NSLI-Y year and my 2.5 years of Arabic at IU, I feel like I am now ready to start learning another language. I thought long and hard about what I should learn, and Persian seemed to fit best with my research and career goals. I am so grateful to have done NSLI-Y, because without it, my Arabic would not be advanced enough that I could consider adding a new language. I will continue to learn and love Arabic, while also expanding my knowledge of the Middle East and Islamic countries even further!

I don’t know if this was helpful, but I hope it was! I don’t know what the future holds (CLS? Fulbright? a masters degree? a PhD?). Whatever happens, I know that my NSLI-Y experience will continue to be one of my most formative experiences. If any of you have any questions, please feel free to comment or send me an email! I wish you all luck with your own NSLI-Y journeys, and I really hope that my blog has been useful 🙂

Leave a comment